top of page

Characters that have been: Cyborg guy

Black and white photo of me wearing a steampunk mask
Me at a halloween party many years ago

Many of us have done it when we were little. Some of us still continue to do it to this day. I am talking of course about designing our own superheroes (or villains). Once kids get a taste for superheroes, every toy they have has some powers or other cool stuff.


Over the years I have created many different characters. The purpose of this blog is to showcase some of those that have appeared since the wee days of my youth. Some of these characters were simply a trait and a few random ideas, others were fully fleshed out to best of my ability at the current stage in my life. With that said, My Own Heroes Volume 1 is dedicated to a hero I created when I was in 3rd grade.

This hero has no name that I remember. His story began one sunday morning while I was with my family at church. I was not in children’s church this morning, but was instead sitting in one of the rear rows of the sanctuary. As my parents and many attendees listened to the spiritual message for the day, my young mind was working. I had a pencil, and a piece of paper.

I spent the service drawing a man. Sometime recently I had been introduced to the concept of cyborgs, so this man had cybernetic limbs. I followed the typical philosophy of ‘more is better.’ He had four cybernetic arms. In addition to these awesome, by my 9 year old reckoning, limbs, he had a strange power. Whenever he was struck in the stomach, he spontaneously sprouted another pair of arms. Not sure what I was thinking at the time.

With a picture in hand, and ideas in mind, I took my new hero to the playground where my friends and I would spend recess pretending to be super powered adversaries locked in neverending battles. I didn’t bother to reveal the sprouting additional arms power until a speedy character decided to try and punch me in the stomach a hundred times. Not caring how ridiculous this would be in real life, I proceeded to pummel the speedy guy with several hundred new limbs.



About the Author:


Stephen Mayo lives in Montana with his wife, daughter, corgi, and three cats.

You can keep in touch with him on Facebook and Twitter. Find more on his podcast A Side of Mayo. If you enjoyed reading this consider buying him a coffee or supporting him on Patreon.

23 views

Recent Posts

See All

Creating your own races in D&D 5e

UPDATE: This post eventually became a book on DMs Guild: Enhanced Heritage I woke up this morning and was surprised to find a Twitter post from James Introcaso outlining a system for designing races i

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page