top of page

Characters that have been: Zepheri



Today’s character was one I created sometime around 1998/99. Like most of my characters at the time, he was based off of a game I had played a lot of recently. In this case, the game was Metroid.

For those unaware of the greatness of these games, Metroid follows the exploits of a bounty hunter by the name of Samus Aran. The big reveal of the first game was that the main character was actually a woman. Until that point, players just knew they were controlling a hardened bounty hunter wearing powered armor and shooting missiles at monsters.

I decided to make Samus’ little brother. His name was Zepheri. I started by taking the sprite of Samus in her regular armor, and changing it to blue. I then added spiked shoulder pads and a katana, because teenage boy sense here. I made my own ship sprite for him, it was blue and green. He also had a Metroid companion.

The first time I actually player Zepheri, he was mortally wounded while fighting my friend’s character that was currently in control of hell. To save his life, his metroid companion merged with him. He was now a hybrid capable of many of the metroid feats such as flight and energy draining. For those keeping track, this was 3 or four years before Metroid Fusion was released.

7 views

Recent Posts

See All

Creating your own races in D&D 5e

UPDATE: This post eventually became a book on DMs Guild: Enhanced Heritage I woke up this morning and was surprised to find a Twitter post from James Introcaso outlining a system for designing races i

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page